Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching to younger children).

In recent times, there has been a constant debate on how children should contribute to the society. While some argue that unpaid community services should be mandatory as a part of high school programmes, others argue that we should not force anything on others. I completely agree on the latter side of the argument. On the one hand, some people believe that community services like working for charity or teaching under-priviledged kids, is necessary for the children to imbibe a sense of responsibility towards the society and nation. They say kids should grow up understanding the importance of problems surrounding them so that they have a better perspective about life. Besides, this will help to teach discipline as well as the value of money in a better way so that they wont spent money on unwanted things. For instance, in Singapore, free voluntary service is made compulsory at all schools, to create awareness regarding issues and problems faced by the common people. They want to create a future generation who empathise with others and also appreciate what their parents are doing for them. On the other hand, another set of people, including me, are of the opinion that it is injustice and outrageous to force anything on kids just because adults feel that they are superior. Every individual has their own identity and ideologies and others ought to repsect it. Moreover, nowadays, children are already in grave stress and pressure from studies and the tough competition they have with others and whatever free time they have must be utilized for their pleasure. If they are forced to do charity, it will do more damage than any good to themselves as well as the society. If at all they are willing to do something for others, it should be their choice rather than a burden. Besides, there is not harm in paying for the services they do since it will motivate them to work harder in future to earn money to support their family. A lot of teenagers do part time jobs in schools and oldage homes and they should be paid if they are in need. Not being a grown up is not a reason for not to pay. To conclude, it is the responsibility of every individual to contribute towards the country and everyone including kids are supposed to do this. In my personal opinion, charity should be a personnal choice and nobody should be forced to do anything against their will or without payment.