Some people believe unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children)

There is a belief by some individuals that serving the community without pay should be a mandatory part of the high school curriculum (for example, carrying out charity works, taking part in enhancing the surrounding where they reside or teaching fitness studies to younger children). In my opinion, I agree to this opinion because it boosts their career profile/opportunity in future and helps to develop their moral background. Including unpaid community work in high school programmes will increase the career opportunities for the students when they grow up. Charity works and voluntary activities heightens their chances of gaining employment later in life. A resume that shows charity work, or activity done to help the community without pay stands out among other resumes with no community service. For example, a documentary carried out by BBC news suggests that in recent times, employers prefer to employ an applicant who has done one form of community service and also has experience in the field in which the vacancy is based on. Thus, engaging in charitable services is an advantage for job seekers. Another reason is that taking part in charity and helping the community without pay assists in developing students morally. Engaging in such activities at that young age, allows them to understand that they are less privileged people in the society who needs their assistance and offering to support them is a commendable behaviour. Furthermore, it is essential for them to understand that they can render some services without being paid. This will make them understand that not all services are rewarded with financial benefits. To illustrate, a survey conducted in Bambi Secondary School Lagos, concluded that students who engaged in community work as part of their curriculum in school appreciates the wealth their parents have because they are aware that some children are out of school because their parents cannot afford to pay their school fees. Overall, community service develops high school students morally. In conclusion, some people are of the opinion that engaging in various forms of charity should be a compulsory aspect in the curriculum of high schools which I strongly agree to. This is because it increases their employability in the employment market and assists in increasing their moral upbringing.