Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

It is argued that high school should include non- paid social service as a mandatory part of the curriculum. I agree with the statement. This essay will discuss how doing a social service helps a student connect with the community and earn real life experience. Firstly, working in a community service helps students connect with the society. This is to say a student understands the issues, occurring in the societies. Moreover, this can lead to more and more students becoming interested in working voluntarily for different community services in the long-term, which can help alleviate issues of society. For instance, a study conducted by The Times in 2014 showed that countries such as Japan, where students are required to do unpaid community service, have a high rate, approximately 50%, of baby boomers involved in social services such as charity. Secondly, doing community service helps a student get real-life experience. In other words, students get a chance to earn practical experience and understand how things work in real life. Furthermore, this experience looks good on the student’s resume, helping students get a job. For example, according to a report in 2018 by Mckinsey, one of the big four consulting companies, students involved in social service had 80% more probability to get a job than a student without such experience. To conclude, this essay agrees and believe it’s a fabulous thought to include non-paid community service as a mandatory part of high school curriculum. This will help students getting closer to the community in the long run and help students earn great practical experience.