Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Unpaid community service is a definition of jobs where people work without earning any money for the sake of society. Nowadays, many people hold to a theory that non-profit organisation services should be a must for high school pragrammes. While there are those who are of the opinion that these kinds of job have negative impact on the children’s learning process. In this essay, the benefits and downsides of this argument will be examined and some opinion will be provided. There are distinct advantages that community service brings to the school children. To begin, it enables them to develop an excellent such interpersonal skills as communication, team-working, problem solving, decision-making and so on. As a matter of fact, it is more valuable for them to participate in these social works than staying at home wasting their time. It provides them with a social environment to socialise with people they do not know in advance, encourages them to exchange their thoughts and beliefs with people and to try to deal with a situation with which they have never faced. These sorts of experiences allow children to gain confidence. In brief, thanks to the community service, they have confidence and experiences they can use later in their life. Despite these arguments, there are also reasons for disagreeing with the idea that school children spend their time working for community in an unpaid way. It shouldn’t be forgotten that children spend most of their time attending school course and doing homework. In addition to these, provided that they take part in community services, they may not able to spend their time the activities they have fun, which brings about them to be stressed and to not able to focus on their education. In the light of what has been mentioned above it can be concluded that although it is undeniable fact that there are some disadvantages for children to participate in community service, it is likely that these kinds of activities can help them develop many skills.