Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neigbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It cannot be doubted that societies must do all they can to support future generations and, in particular adolescents. While many may think that making teenagers do community work without payment as part of the secondary school curriculum would be beneficial, I strongly oppose this position for a couple of reasons. The most significant reason why adolescents ought not to be forced into doing free services in the community is that it would likely breed resentment. The reason for this is people are naturally averse to doing anything that seems forced upon them. In other words, if teenagers are pushed into doing work for free, they may perceive it as slavery and resent not only the work itself, but the school and community as well. As a result, they will not take to the experience and thus not learn or grow as much as they could. If, by contrast, they had a choice about doing charitable work, then those who were interested could apply for it and benefit a lot more. Furthermore, inserting community work into teenagers’ schedules would cause them additional undue stress. This is because they are already obligated to study a lot of subjects and have other commitments as well, which are arguably more important. For instance, it is during one’s teenage years when he not only is required to prepare for university entrance exams, but is also under pressure to decide on his own career. Having adolescents serve their community at this busy time of their lives, therefore, will only jeopardise their examination results and futures. In conclusion, I do not support community service programmes being incorporated into high school curriculums because it would lead to the potential risk of holding the students back in their studies, and it would be highly likely that they would carry out the work begrudgingly in any case.