Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for the charity, teaching sports to younger children.

It is argued by some that voluntary work such as community work and educating younger children about games should be mandatory in the secondary school curriculum system. This essay agrees with this view of implementing free work to the high school outline because it will teach students to be responsible, to be a valuable contributor in society and it will help them for their farther advancement. Education should not be limited to only academic purposes but also to practical skills. Community work such as working for charities and teaching sports to kids are also very important as they have the ability to teach high schoolers invaluable communication and interaction skills. Community work helps students connect with their local people and to become responsible citizens. For example, when I was a student in higher secondary school at that time, I used to clean our school surroundings as voluntary work. This skill helped me later on in my life as I’ve been able to keep my neighbourhood clean. Therefore, I believe that free work at school is very essential for students as they are able to acquire practical skills that are not taught in a classroom setting. Another important benefit is the acquired experience. Many colleges and universities also look for this kind of experience. A lot of students leave high school with volunteer work and charitable work on their CV and that greatly helps them stand out in the huge pool of prospective university applicants. For example, top universities such as MIT, Oxford and Cambridge receive thousands of applications with top marks every year and they merely accept a small number of applicants. The extracurricular activities on a student’s application could certainly make the difference between acceptance and rejection. In conclusion, I believe that volunteerism and charitable work should be mandatory in secondary school. This essay totally agrees with the implementation of such a curriculum because of the benefits it brings to society and the practical experience the students gain that will help them in the future.