Some people believe that unpaid community activity service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children. ) To what extent do you agree or degree?

It is generally argued that volunteering should be made part of the school curriculum. In my opinion, I think voluntary work can help students develop soft skills and these extracurricular activities are also valued by universities and employers. A good reason to hold this view is that education should not be limited to strictly academic pursuits and those in education should also develop life skills, such as teamwork, empathy, and self-discipline, and one of the best ways to hone these aptitudes is through community service. Serving those less fortunate than ourselves teaches us many lessons including how to work with people from other backgrounds and the value of hard work. For example, I personally volunteered to spend 6 weeks in Africa teaching disadvantaged children and this led to a much higher work ethic when I returned to my studies. Another point to consider is that many colleges and companies are also increasingly looking for this type of experience. Most school leavers have the same grades and charitable works can help set you apart from the herd. For example, Cambridge and Oxford receive thousands of applications from straight-A students every year and can only accept a small percentage of applicants. What you have done outside the classroom is often the thing that differentiates you from everyone else and gets you that coveted spot. In conclusion, teenagers should be made to partake in unpaid work as part of their schooling because it will help them learn things they wouldn’t ordinarily learn from their teachers and it will also boost their chances of getting into third level education.