Some people believe that time spent on television, video and computer games can be beneficial to children. Others believe this has negative effects on a child.

Over the past few years, with the invention and popularization of new technologies, current generation tends to differ from the people who belonged to the olden era in many ways. While, many people have voiced their opinion that the time kids invest in watching the television and playing video games can be harmful to them, others don't agree and believe that these can be beneficial. I believe although, there are many benefits to the above mentioned activities, certain drawbacks should be considered. Everyone has favourite pastime, which allows the person to indulge in some interesting work and therefore, helps to relieve all the stress. This holds true for the children as well, because after the long day at school, he/she feels mentally drained. For instance, a preferred cartoon show or a computer game can cheer up the kid. As a result, the child feels enthusiastic and pumped up for the day. Furthermore, TV programmes can be very informative and games can help them tackle few situations with their presence of mind. For example, in an interview, a young boy in my city who won the national science quiz mentioned that some shows related to science helped him answer many questions. However, anything done in excess can be the reason for addiction. This is because, many little ones have lost the most precious time of their lives by engaging themselves in addictive games. To illustrate, the recent trend of the game called PUBG created sensation. It became the most loved game among youngsters and also the reason for untimely deaths of many teens due to excessive exposure. In addition, being fascinated and enchanted, the juveniles get deviated from their path of education and end up in miserable state. In conclusion, even though there are various flaws of being drifted away and becoming sluggish, I believe, technology, if allowed to use under parental guidance with restrictions on the time period, these can prove to be stress busters and helpful to the kids.