Some people say that the government should put money in the Arts, such as music, opera and paintings. Other people think money should be spent on construction of public facilities instead. What is your opinion.

It is imperative that governments spend the available fund for the most effective public services of the nation which is beneficial to society at large. Some people believe that governments should allocate sufficient fund for promoting music and arts; However, others think that is a waste of money. From my point of view, countries should employ most of their funds in important public services rather spending money on entertainment activities. Firstly, the governments all over the world have the responsibility to ensure that every citizen of the country is educated, at least to read and write. The investment in education will be in the form of establishing more schools, universities and vocational training centres for the school dropouts. Additionally, it is vital that everyone in the society has the means to get the basic health benefits. Governments can invest in the health sector in many ways. The medical practitioners should be taken care by providing them with the sufficient remuneration and benefits so that the important skill migration in the medical field of the country could be avoided. Also, the authorities can educate the general public and implement many vaccination programs across the countries to eradicate many diseases. Lastly, states’ funds should be deployed in putting up proper transport network systems such as the building of metro-train facility around the city. More lanes on the highway roads can be built to facilitate the car-pooling for the commuters. This facility will reduce the carbon fuel emission and helps to reduce the global warming. I do appreciate that some people think differently, saying that the arts have a significant impact on our quality of life. Many people get great pleasure in going to see music and theater performances. It is true that the investment in art is beneficial to the promotion of the country's soft power and the improvement of residents' quality of life when the basic lives are guaranteed. Nevertheless, with a limited budget, there is nothing wrong with the government giving priority to livelihoods. In conclusion, governments should spend a major portion of their funds on highly demanding public-service sectors such as health, education and public transportation rather than spending a huge money on the entertainment sectors such as theatres and music.