Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on punishment.

Although it is thought that fixed punishment ought to be applied to the specific type of conviction, many others believe that it depends on the reasons and situations that one should be charged. In my opinion, I agree that it is vital for the judicial system to take consideration to the root cause of the crime as it sometimes happens as a result of other impacts. On the one hand, the motivation and events of a crime should be taken into account according to some and I agree. Firstly, not all individuals are natural-born evil, they commit the crime due to the poor background. In other words, poverty and lack of education have led people to rob for food or get into an unnecessary fight when being bullied. This results in unexpected serious injury or damaged property. Therefore, it should be judged and punished differently with some who intentionally does so. Secondly, abusive family plays a sever role in turning an innocent child into a criminal. As a matter of fact, when being molested or beaten by a violent father or alcoholic mother, they tend to act cruelly towards the other. For example, torturing and killing animal behaviour in some children is considered to be the reflection of what they have suffered by parents. Consequently, caring and coaching seems to be more effective ways rather than actual trials. On the other hand, some people have also claimed forming a specific punishment for a particular crime is essential. A good reason for this is it creates the transparency in the legal structure. There is no way for the representative lawyer to manipulate the statements at the trial in order to lessen the charge. Another point to consider is it forms the benchmark for citizens. For example, if an individual were about to do something illegally, he/she could immediately figure out what would be the potential punishment. Therefore, it promising leads to crime reduction. In conclusion, circumstances and motivation for a specific conviction is a must when a country aims at less discriminatory and biased in giving judging decision