Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on punishment.

There is an argument that the type of crime should be the only fact to establish a penalty. In contrast, part of society argues that facts such as circumstances as well as motivation must be considered. From my perspective, in order to fairly judge someone, the justice system should consider several factors. On the one hand, regardless the motivation, crimes affect victims at the same matter, since the result of criminal activies are the same, as a consequence, they should be punished equally regarding the victim's protection. For instance, even if an assault is commited by a minor, it still has the potention to hurt or kill the victim. Moreover, equal punishments help citizens to obey the laws, as individuals understand clearly their limits and consequences, which generally decreases crime statistics. On the other hand, ignoring other factors while judging a crime is unfair, because the criminal might not be entirely wrong nor responsible for the action, as a result, inmates could spend more time than they should in prison. For example, a man in Fortaleza spent twenty years in prison for killing his daughter's attacker, despite being a hard-worker and Christian, which lead to an unfair sentence. Additionally, dangerous criminals may be underestimated by the justice and commit illegal activities again, as most serial killers, to illustrate, have commited minor crimes before starting killing, therefore, ignoring those aspects might increase crime numbers. To conclude, while fixed penalties may seem more logical considering the results, the reasons and background of the action play a critical role to establish the level of dangerous of criminals. In my opinion, all judgments should take other aspects into consideration besides the crime.