Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables where they cannot be grown or out of season. Do the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

In the last decade, it has been a rise in the amount of fruit and vegetables sent through air to places where the production is impossible or out of season. In this essay I will explain why I think there are more advantages of this mode of transport than disadvantages. The first positive point of air travel is the little time it takes to carry these products from one place to another. Daily buying fresh fruits and vegetables from all around the world in every season of the year is made possible because this. For instance, Ecuatorian bananas and Brazilian pineapples are eaten all over the globe as they are sent fast by air. Furthermore, if these were transported by water or roads they would arrive rotten and unavailable for human consumption. The negative aspects of this means of transport is that it is highly more expensive, consequently, the imported items we buy at the market have a greater price than those locally grown. Take, for example, Chinese oranges cost twice more than those locally grown but in spite of having higher prices, people carry on shopping them and that is a significant drawback for the local economy. In conclusion, nowadays, all around the world shopping availability of fresh fruits and vegetables has increased the specific nutrients and vitamins in people´s daily menu. This advantage clearly outweighs price and local economy disadvantage.