Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is widely considered that a price hike in petroleum products is a good step in solving environmental pollution problems and road congestion problems. In my opinion, I completely agree that an increase in fuel price is beneficial to the environment and traffic problems. Moreover, the government plays a vital role in solving the problems. Firstly, the number of car users will drop significantly if petrol price will soar. Futhermore, carbon emissions brought by vehicles will decrease. It means that it is significant to the environment because vehicles exhaust is one of the contributing factor of global warming and air pollution. One good example, the Kingdom of Bhutan which is regarded as the only carbon negative country in the world. In my own view, one solution such as price changes in fuel will lead to good results. On the other hand, government plays a vital role in implementing other ways to control the growing traffic and pollution problems. I believed that, starting environmental programs and building more infractructures for transportation are other ways to control the problem. For instance, government can build new freeways, underpass and rail systems to solve traffic problems. Secondly, they can promote alternative transportation such as using bicycles and they can pass a law solely for pollution problems such as cleaning drives. In conclusion, the growing problem regarding traffic and pollution can be solve with an increase in petrol price. It is maybe complicated because more people are using vehicles now, but with the aid of the government it can be a success.