Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

To date, we have thousands of laws, regulations, general rules enumerated to ensure our society functions as it should be. However, these restrictions could never be enough to cover every circumstance that happened around-the-clock. Therefore, should the law be our gospel for us to follow strictly without deviation? Or should we perceive each case as an individual and take multiple factors into considerations? My opinion is definitely on the latter. For people who value law as an impregnable principle, the law itself would surpass human judgments. Humanity could be a defection when coming to talk about righteousness. Sentiments and bias might get in the way and eventually lead to miscalculation and unjustness, resulting in man-made errors, a horrendous failure for justice. Despite the fact that human error is almost inevitable, people still believe taking certain factors into consideration is genuinely legitimate. Laws are considered to the most basic requirement of human morality, making it the reason why this issue has become controversial. People might have broken the law yet the motivation behind such deed could alter our interpretation to it. The main character in the Opera “Les miserable” stole a loaf of bread because he was almost starved to death; a young heroin addict pickpocketed a wallet to cater for his cravings. These two cases above are both thievery, yet the morality standard was hardly even. Our cognition helps us reconsider and adjust our decisions and prevent us from nonchalantly putting the same amount of punishment on these two men without pondering over some more congruous solution. The law could be the guidance, a foundation of our ethic standards. Nevertheless, we still have to make room for flexibilities and consider every crime as an individual.