Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. But others say films should have educational value.

Nowadays, the film industry is very popular that many think it is purely made for leisure purposes. Others suggest that individuals should be acquiring knowledge from it as well. My view is that, people should watch movies to have fun and learn at the same time. On the one side, most of the people who think that the sole purpose of movies are for entertainment came from the older age group. This is due to the fact that the very first films are made for this reason, and so, it was passed on to the next generations. One of the very first films, made in 1900s, was the movie called Three Stoogies, which became very popular because of its comedic plot. This notion is very hard to change, especially those who are brought up in that era. However, I believe that in watching motion pictures, people can both be entertained and gain information correspondingly because many of the shows today are considerate to this idea. For instance, medical students like watching the show Scrubs for it gives them enjoyment and at the same time, the show gives details about patients’ cases, which enhances their familiarity about it. Another one that helps individuals is a movie that involves cooking. Through this, many persons who do not know how to cook, and become successful in their cooking professions. In conclusion, some people are still firm that films are mainly for leisure, but I would argue that it can be educational as well. Nevertheless, every individual should be cautious of what they watch and discern if it is helping them to become better people; giving them the true and accurate rather than false information.