Some people believe that the money spend on space exploration technology is not justifiable. It should be spend on other beneficial things.

It is true that human is going to suffer from a variety of problems in the near decades, such as a population explosion and an energy crisis. While I do believe there are so many unsolved problems in our society that require money, it is still justified and necessary to spend money on exploring the universe. Granted, pouring money on other areas does bring more benefits. This is because money from the governments has addressed many existing problems on developing countries, such as a food shortage, inadequate energy supply and poor infrastructure. Nevertheless, these problems are also key obstacles to developments in underdeveloped regions, which means if there are more funds on such issues, the crime rate will reduce in those areas and people working there are motivated to work harder. Apparently, spending money in this way is more meaningful for mankind than in space explorations. However, that is not to say we should stop investing money on space exploration. Our universe is rich in resources than we can ever imagine, and once our technology reach the level of gaining such resources, the problems that we faced in the future might be eradicated once and for all. For example, the US government has been progressing their technology in studying mysterious Mars, and NASA recently confirms evidence that liquid water flows on today’s Mars. This breaking news indicates that in the future mankind is able to live beyond the Earth to satisfy the increasing need of population. From the perspective of scientific research, huge breakthroughs in medicine and constructing will come in when our high-tech spacecrafts discover life or rare metal that do not exist on the Earth. In conclusion, it seems to me that spending money on social issues is more significant, while we still have to share the cost of the technology for space exploration to seek help in tackling upcoming problems.