Some people believe that the main environmental problems of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

In this modern era, although humans have a large number of convenient facilities and amenities, they are suffering from many detrimental environmental distractions. Some argue that the most critical issue is the decrease of particular species of plants and animals, yet others believe that there are more dreadful problems. In my opinion, I support both viewpoints as each has its own reasons. To begin with, there are two prominent reasons why the reduction of several species would cause negative effects on the environment. First of all, the loss of some plants and animals might lead to the ecosystem imbalance. Since some trees or plants are commonly the source of foodstuff for various wild animals and some smaller animals are preys of others that are bigger, thus, it might become lack of fare for feral ones. For instance, bamboo is the bear’s favorite meals or fish are the main rations source of polar bears. Secondly, the loss of several specific plants might affect adversely on the economy. If rice became extinct one day, it would definitely bring about many destructive consequences for Asian countries. As rice is not only the vital food supply of Asian people, but also contributes to the high export in the world. On the other hand, there are a variety of other environmental issues on earth. The most serious one is the rise in temperature, it has a detrimental impact on both humans and animals. High temperature results in various severe disasters such as drought, thunderstorm, earthquake and flood that would affect agriculture and people’s lives. In addition, the melting of ice has bad influence on polar bears, many of them have died as they could not endure the hot weather. Furthermore, air pollution or water pollution cause negative impacts on lives, such as shortage of clean water and asthma due to polluted air. By way of conclusion, it is undeniable that the biodiversity, human’s lives and the economy would be badly affected is some kinds of plants and animals are on the verge of extinction and the earth has to suffer from other environmental problems. In my view, we should not take any environmental issues for granted as they affect directly on our surroundings.