Some people believe that the main environmental problems of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The growth of industries, increasing human population and consumerism has led to increasing demand for goods and services across the world. Though, this development has improved human lives, it has led to a strain on the environment. The increasing demography means more amount of space required to inhabit in. To fulfill requirement of increasing space, human beings have ventured into the forestlands which in turn has led to deforestation and loss of natural habitat. Deforestation means cutting of huge trees which have been in the forest for decades. It has led to loss of many varieties of plants and species. The species that would normally survive in the natural ecosystem would not be able to do so if their ecosystem is destroyed. On the other hand, some believe that there are even more quintessential issues related to the environment. In the recent years, the temperature around the globe has risen due to global warming. Global warming has led to migration of species and extinction of rare species in some cases. Although, it isn't the only issue, we have been facing problems of pollution too. Cities like Delhi face the issue of smog every year. Smog is caused due to pollution and burning of crops. Environmentalists have been warning their governments since decades about these issues. But unfortunately, only few countries have taken their advice into consideration. I believe that environment is currently in grave danger. The rise in temperature, pollution, extinction of plants and species are going to cause severe damage to the human beings in the upcoming years. I think government and the civil society needs to start thinking about protecting the environment. We need to stop exploiting nature for the capitalist greed.