Some people think the media should not report details of crime to the public. What extent

Since the beginning of the twenty first century, the role of the media has played a vital role to entertain, to inform and to educate the people. It is commonly believed that, thorough details of crimes should not be exposed to the public, as it can impact negatively to the society. However, I think that, explaining the crime details to the public makes people more aware to save themselves from wrongdoers. The reasons of my disinclination are explained in trailed paragraphs. To begin with, it is a well known fact that, prevention is always better than cure. To be specific, by exploring criminal reports, people can get to know about anti-social elements around them, which make them alert in advance. For example, locals can avoid the route, where the frequent robberies and stealing are happening. Additionally, they can learn how to protect themselves with their personal belongings by applying some preventing steps. For instance, cars should be parked under the light, which can prevent any car robbery. Moreover, victims can elaborate more precisely about how to deal with the situation and how to get out of it, which can be really beneficial for all the listeners. People must get to know about the very first step, taken after being cheated or harmed and it can be learned from the real incidents only. For instance, if someone's credit card is stolen, then the very first step he/she should take is to deactivate the card, so that all transactions could be prevented. These kinds of steps can be taught to the public with the help of the media. To conclude, media plays a vital role to educate the people by revealing the reality of the society. Thus, learning from others is definitely advantageous for all.