Some people believe that the government should make education for the elderly for free. Others think that older people should pay for their own education. Discuss advantages and disadvantages of this proposal.

To suggest that education for the elderly should be free raises many issues and it is worth considering the advantages and disadvantages of this proposal. If such a scheme were to be implemented the benefits would be dubious at best, whilst on the other hand, the disadvantages would be more considerable and far outweigh any advantages that may come about. It is quite clear that allowing older people in society a chance to study for free could have some advantages, but the key question is; for whom? If an older person was permitted to study for free this might grant them a chance to experience tertiary education that they might not have otherwise had a chance to attempt in the past. Yet while this might be of benefit to them, especially if they were unemployed seeking further work, or desired to attain new skills just to remain in work, the benefits may not be considerable enough to trickle down to the rest of the population. This proposal to offer free education may perhaps be best suited for a future time, when the effects of the currently aging population in the developed world, causes a severe imbalance in the ratio of the young to the old, which would require the elderly to work for much longer in their lives instead of retiring in order to reduce the tax burden on the younger population. Then, and perhaps only then, offering free education to the elderly might be advantageous for all concerned, however at this stage in time it is hard to see how it might be of any significant advantage to anyone or society, and may only be so for the elderly themselves. When it comes to the disadvantages of allowing the elderly to study for free, it is perhaps much more of a burden to society than it would be a benefit. Essentially there is no such thing as a free education, when it comes to any valuable service that is provided for free as it almost always comes as an expense to government. This expense would then of course be passed on to the people and would in doubt add to the woes of any incumbent treasurer or financial analyst on the payroll of the government. " Free education for the elderly" seems like a wayward promise by a backwards politician merely seeking the next newspaper headline or to slyly gain votes in a marginal electorate with an elderly majority. It is not in any way sustainable nor profitable to allow such a continuously large proportion of the population to have free education. Not to mention the loud cries of unfair play when the public realise where else their taxes are being wasted. It is also difficult to imagine that any elder who were to commence tertiary studies, would likely be able to continue working for much longer and so it is more than likely that society would not genuinely experience enough benefits to the economy considering how many more years of work the elderly are able to sustain. Any well thought out proposal that is so well developed and deserving of complete financial support from the government, needs to be carefully examined and scrutinized to a far greater extent than the one line suggestion posed could possibly make. It goes without saying that free education for the elderly, in fact for anyone, would be a luxury and of course beneficial to those that receive it. Yet it is without doubt that in such a fanciful and childish dream, it is entirely impractical and simple wishful-thinking as the cost would be staggering and the burden to society would go far beyond any advantages gleaned from this ili-thought daydream.