Some people believe that the earth is being harmed by human activity. Other feels that human activity make the earth a better place to live.

It has always been an important issue for parents to keep their children busy. However, while some argue that children should learn to keep themselves occupied, I strongly believe that it is parents’ responsibility to guide and help their off-springs to participate in pre-organised group activities in their free time. On the one hand, it could be argued that children should devise some entertainment for themselves. It is said that when children invent some activity to get rid of the boredom of holidays they find it more rewarding. For instance, children who decide to do arts and crafts in their leisure time usually enjoy it a lot and become more productive and creative in their chosen skills. Children who have to discover something for themselves are said to have better decision making and critical thinking as they have to think and make decisions for themselves. On the other hand, I wholeheartedly believe that parents should guide their children to stay occupied and entertained. Children who are left on their own are at the risk of getting misdirected. Without parental guidance there is a high probability that children might indulge in activities that can be more damaging than being productive. It has been seen that children who are not placed in summer camps usually end-up watching cartoons the whole summer, and teens usually opt to hover around and smoke with their friends. In contrast, if these young people are enrolled in some activity, such as swimming or skating clubs, not only will they learn new skills but will also be safe from the bad company. In short, although giving autonomy to young people to devise some activity for themselves may make them productive and creative, the risk of getting trapped in a bad company and getting astray outweighs these small benefits. Thus, on balance, I agree that it is parents who should enrol their children in grouped activities during vacations.