Some people believe that the biggest problem facing cities is the increasing number of cars. Others say there more serious problems.

In recent years, major causes of pollution has become debatable. Many individuals share the viewpoint that the most significant issue is the rise in the amount of vehicles because this increases environmental pollution. I am of the opinion that there are more detrimental setbacks such as, usage of plastic materials and building of industries within the towns. Those who support the view that the most significant issue is vehicles may argue on the basis of increase environmental pollution. In other words, one of the major causes of air pollutant is the fumes released from machines. Take for example, the city of Lagos, according to the Global health Institute in 2017, revealed that, we produced approximately 2. 3 million tons of smoke which has drastically risen from about 1. 2 million tons in 1990. Thus, resulting in one of the leading factors of air pollution. However, I would argue that, while the rationale above is correct there are many major factors affecting our communities. One of such is, the use of plastic bags. This implies that, the use of rubber materials such as bags and bottles has caused more harm than good resulting in land, water and air pollution. According to a research carried out by the United Nations in 2019, for instance, revealed that about 600 million tons of plastic wastes are being produced yearly around the world, and since they are non biodegradable it takes 100 to 1000 years for such waste to eventually leave the earth. As a result, more damage is being done to not only the land but also the ocean beds and the atmosphere, of such materials are eventually burnt. In conclusion, while I believe that smoke released from cars are dangerous to the environment, I am of the opinion that there are more major factors that affect our surroundings such as, plastic bags and bottles.