Some people believe that teenagers should concentrate on all school subjects. But others believe that teenagers should focus on the subject that they are good at or that they find the most interest.

It seems to be an endless debate whether adolescents should pay attention to all school subjects or they should invest time and effort in the subjects of their likings. In this essay, both views will be discussed followed by the author’s opinion. On the one hand, selective studying does benefit students in some ways but can put students at a certain disadvantage. When a student gives full attention to one or two subjects of their choice, the learner can get high proficiency in their fields. With an in-depth, detailed and academic understanding of their chosen field, it is likely that they will have more job opportunities in the future. Besides, students are believed to be more motivated and inspired when they study the subjects they like. They will be less stressed but find their learning more enjoyable. However, there’s still one drawback of this learning style is that they will have troubles with the school tests. Since they only want to focus on their favorite subjects, they will not be able to study other subjects, which will worsen their overall results at school or they can even fail exams. On the other hand, although some argue that learning all subjects may exhaust students, high school curriculum is tailored to teach all the subjects that are considered to be of importance such as mathematics, science, English, history, and geography. These act as a foundation for future career applications. Not only are they designed to provide knowledge, but also allow the students to select the subjects that they might wish to take up for higher studies and career opportunities. Moreover, teenagers are not capable enough to make the best decision pertaining to one particular subject that they would want to study in the foreseeable future. After discussing the both sides, I believe that investing equal time and effort in all the fields and subjects at school enables teenagers to develop to the full and widens their range of interest. They will be able to figure out a particular stream or subject at a later stage in life, preferably during higher studies.