Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child's development while others think that it is important for children to go to school. Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that home teaching is an optimal way of a child's learning, whilst others believe educational institutions are more appropriate for them. This essay will discuss the merits of both sides, then I will elucidate my opinion. Undoubtedly, learning at home has various benefits for children. Most important of them all is the extreme convenience it provides to both parents and children. At home children can learn in a better way as they do not have to face competition and peer pressure. Parents provide proper attention and spend a quality of time while teaching them at home. For instance, one of my cousins prefers to teach his children at home rather than at school which build strong bonding between them. Hence teaching children at home not only helps to improve their abilities, but also plays an indispensable role in developing relationships with family members. Nevertheless, schools are the best places to acquire knowledge. Firstly, in school a child learns in a proper environment where they get a chance to deal with different circumstances, such as how to cope with conflicts and confrontations. Similarly, at educational institutions, students learn team working skills which help them to get a job in foreseeable future. Furthermore, schools develop confidence and encourage children to socialize with their peers which consequently develop soft skills to a certain extent. To illustrate, according to a recent report published by BBC Business, this revealed that regular students are more productive and punctual in their practical life. In conclusion, although both teaching methods have their merits on balance, but I believe schools are far better learning places for children as institutes build confidence and help children to be an active member of the society. Therefore, parents should enrol their children in schools instead of confining them at home.