Some people believe that taxing companies, which cause it, is the best way to reduce industrial pollution while some suggest that there are several other ways to solve this trouble.

Some individuals are of the opinion that industries which cause pollution should be taxed heavily so as to reduce pollution, whereas others opine that pollution should be controlled by other means. This essay intends to discuss both perspectives. I, however, side with the latter view Those who are in favour of taxing companies say so because it is these companies which cause pollution and they should pay for cleaning it up. The ordinary people should not have to pay for it through taxes. Obviously, if government pays for it, it would be through the common man's pocket. On the other hand, other methods to deal with the situation would be better. This is because it would be very difficult to judge which industries are causing how much pollution. They would all shrug off their shoulders and that would make matter worse. Secondly, these companies would claim that they are already paying a lot of taxes and so it becomes the government's responsibility. Other methods should be used to tackle this problem. To begin with, the government can make it mandatory for these industries to set up effluent-treatement plants. Government can also give them subsidies for such projects. This would ensure that these effluents don't contaminate the underground water. These industries should also be encouraged to plant trees. They should have a green belt all around them so that the trees absorb all carbon dioxide liberated To conclude, taxing the industries would not work as a good solution for reducing pollution and other methods should be looked into.