Industrial pollution is increasing all around the world Some people say that the most effective way to tackle the problem is to Tax companies that are causing the pollution Others argue that there are other ways to control the situation

Sleep is an important activity required for the body to function properly. Globally, individuals spend less time sleeping than they used to in the past. I will discuss the two major reasons why people sleep less and the effect of this practice on the individual and the society in the subsequent paragraphs. The sleep time for people has been reduced because of some reasons. One of such reasons is that people now spend long hours on the road and as a result, they have shorter period to sleep. People work far away from their homes and the traffic situation is not helping matters at all; hence, they spend most of their time commuting to and from their workplace. This reduces the time they have left to sleep. For example, a 2017 survey by the Department of Sociology, University of Lagos, showed that people are barely able to find time to sleep because they spend approximately 80% of their day commuting. The other 20% is split between sleeping and other domestic activities. Another reason for this trend is that individuals spend most of their time engaging in entertainment activities such as video games and attending social events. These activities eat into their sleep period. Consequently, insufficient sleep has some negative effects on the individual and the society. Firstly, not enough sleep can have negative effects on a person's wellbeing and this may eventually increase government spending on health care. People can fall ill if they do not get enough sleep and government may have to spend more money caring for them. Secondly, it reduces productivity and this may lead to a fall in a nation's national income. For example, reports in the business news have shown that people are less productive during festive period because they attend many events. Consequently, the total revenue of most countries drop during this period. In conclusion, people sleep less than before globally. Some of the reasons for this trend are that people spend more time on the road now and on entertainment activities. This practice may lead to poor health of individuals, and increased government spending on health care. It may also lead to low productivity and reduced national income.