Industrial pollution is increasing all around the world Some people say that the most effective way to tackle the problem is to Tax companies that are causing the pollution Others argue that there are other ways to control the situation

This is a topic which provokes great debate amongst people and enterprises due to its importance and impact on the environment. Whilst some argue that high taxation to companies could mitigate the issue, there is a different school of thought which believes that to address industrial pollution, other measures need to take into account. However, in my opinion, I agree with the idea that high tax could be an effective solution. To begin with, industrial wastes are one of the major contributors to pollution. Unpurified wastewater, toxic gas, noise and light contaminating environment all day long. Ordinary people are almost unable to go against this as most of the industries are owned by powerful individuals, who are backed by the government most of the times. For instance, despite workers boycotts and protests many companies keep running their factories in developing countries. In fact, these factories provide employment to locals, consequently, minimizing the government' s intervention. Therefore, to control this, policymakers should introduce hefty taxation when starting factories and further, they should make filtration mechanisms mandatory before granting approvals for establishment. On the other hand, to handle such monopolised, and highly economically-impactful issues, there is very less common people could do. Moreover, even police and local authorities are controlled by these powerful enterprises. Bribery and corrupted systems in most developing nations would not allow people to voice-up. If people take actions against them there is a certain risk of them losing jobs. As a matter of fact, corrupted politicians preventing people' s actions against such industries. Therefore, without the government' s support tackling this issue would be inconceivable. In conclusion, in my opinion, it would be impossible to handle this issue without heavy tax and policies because other actions which people could take are extremely limited.