Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school.

Many believe that pursuing a higher education through university is the best way to have a successful career. However, others think that getting a job right after school is better. With the rising standards of living, people want to earn money quickly to satisfy their needs, all while being successful. So, which of these two paths is able to satisfy people's demands? Higher education is the first step towards a better future. Although there are some exceptions that defy this rule like Bill Gates, for instance. It still holds true for the vast majority. College studies enrich your mind and enable you to discover knowledge that you would not uncover alone. Not to mention that there are professionals who can aid you with your studies and career. Furthermore, you do not just gain academic experience you gain so much more, as you get involved in the university life; getting to know people of different backgrounds, nationalities and cultures will open up your mind and give you better adaptation and socializing skills. Whatever you learn or experience during college will aid you in your professional life. It also makes you an expert on what you do, there is a difference between someone who just states their opinion on a matter and between someone who actually have information about that matter. Nevertheless, some people don't believe much in higher studies. They just want to get a job after they graduate high school and start building a future for themselves. These people tend to invest the years that would be spent in a certain faculty in pursuing a career. Some of these people have their own skills and talents that will allow them to build a future on their own. For example, some artists would start selling their arts at a young age and wouldn't study art, they'd open an art gallery and create their own business. The same could be said about actors and singers, of course they would need to train to improve their talents, but they can still manage without pursuing a higher studies. Others just prefer working than studying. In my opinion, I believe that both sets of paths are right. As much as I believe that studying at university does make a difference and adds to your skills and knowledge, it's not a rule. Some of the greatest leaders in the world didn't get a chance at a higher education, take Mohamed Ali, for instance, he built a great empire, improved Egypt's educational and economic system, all while being illiterate. Now, I am not encouraging illiteracy but I believe hat everyone should do what is best for them. Set a goal and do what it takes to achieve that goal. If you want to be a doctor, you'd have to go to medical school. Thus, you must determine what you want and take the right decisions to attain your desires. In conclusion, it's our goals and dreams that determine what sort of action we'd take. However, one must know that success is a matter of determination and hard work, whether they choose to go to college or open up their own business.