Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school.

The optimum route to a successful career starts right after schooling. While some people believe that it is best to get a job immediately after school, there are others who believe that college learning is essential. Although both options have their own pros and cons, for most students, the decision is based on a plethora of factors and situations. This essay discusses both the views. In my opinion, higher study is important because school teaches children, the basic ethics and manners. For instance, they learn the primary values and morals but are not specialised into any particular field. A high paying job is usually not offered and growth opportunities are limited. Subsequently, those who start working at a younger age, are also prone to bad habits as there is no one to guide them and this leads to depression and anxiety. Individuals who pursue education at a university get to groom themselves and also excel in a specific area. For example, doctors study for almost eight years after school to become qualified and get their licence. Moreover, these extra years invested, do pay off in terms of the efforts put in, as they get paid exorbitantly after passing out. They can practice their profession and make more money in a year, compared to dropping out and taking odd jobs. To conclude, dropping out of school and working directly may not have long term benefits. University education is a must in todays competitive world and must be carried out for a secure future.