Some people believe that sport has an important role in society. Others, however, feel that it is nothing more than a leisure activity for some people.

Sport is a unifying tool in national development. Even though some people argue that it has no relevance in a community, saying that it is just a recreational activity, others believe that it plays a pivotal role in a nation. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and provide reasons why sports play a critical role in any society. Sport is a recreational function carried out during leisure time by some people. It then depends on the type of sport, since some sports are not physically tasking but rather involves mental task. A person who partakes in sports as a form of exercise will obviously fall into this category. A typical example, is an individual who plays games like Scrabble and chess. Sport becomes a fun-time activity if it is done just to past time and have fun. Sport on the other hand is a game carried out by skilled professionals who are trained in that area to compete for laurel. This could take several years of dedicated practice and experience in that area of sports. In other words, it has gone beyond just exercising to competing for a prize or reward. For example, it is difficult to see people engage in boxing just for leisure, because of the health implication and the level of physicality. Another is contesting for national pride. The role of sport in society cannot be over emphasized, as it is a source of employment and it is also used as a tool to bring people of different race and colour together. In conclusion, in as much I agree that sports can be to past-time or a form of exercise, I am of the opinion that it goes beyond that to a point that it is being used as a source of employment and also a unifying factor in society.