Some people believe that society is becoming less friendly these days. W¬¬hy do you think this might be? Suggest some ways in which this can be reversed.

Many people in modern society are holding a pessimistic view that we do not express our polite attitudes toward others. This is due to their frequent exposure to the media, but many solutions could be applied by both individuals and the government to address the issue. It is undeniable that the media is the main culprit of the contemporary negative belief toward the society. Thanks to the development of the internet as well as the increasing popularity of personal technological devices, people nowadays can easily access the news from various sources. In addition, since people in general are more curious about negative stories happening around, especially about traffic accidents, crime, corruption investigations, terrorist attacks or celebrities’ scandals, news outlets also are giving more of these to maximize profits via larger numbers of views, creating positive feedback and ultimately making ordinary citizens think positively less. As a result, people become more doubtful about the society and feel like it is less friendly than in the past. However, feasible measures could be taken to mitigate the problem. On individual level, people should turn their attention toward more positive news as well as general successful development. They should also spend less time on catching latest news in the virtual world and more time on talking to real people about real life, which are proven by psychologists to help avoid ultimate pessimistic consequences like depression, anxiety or trauma. On societal scale, the government should limit the amount of negative news publicized on the internet to prevent its wide mental effects on its readers. In conclusion, though the media is to blame for the popular belief of less-friendly society, both the governments and its citizens could take actions to reverse as well as avoid the psychological consequences of invisibly toxic information.