Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in future, such as those related to science and technology.

In recent years, universities have started giving more choices in thier courses. Some people believe that college-goers should be allowed to choose subjects, while others say that futuristic topics of the scientific nature should be promoted. My opinion is that, areas of interest of an individual should be considered while crafting an educational course for him. On one hand, the emphasis is on keeping young generation employable and relevant. Proponents of such line of thought argue that learning technology is inevitable for the youth, and therefore it should be made a part of college education. However, such practices can lead to starvation of talent in arts and other social education streams. These tendencies can result in ushering of students, with artistic acumen, into technical streams. This can be illustrated by many workplace surveys, in which engineers working in such organizations have confessed to be in wrong line of work. Such outcomes can be attributed to going with an educational paradigm, during college days, which was not suited to one's abilities. On the other hand, a section of society believes that universities should enable attendies to choose subjects on basis of their own liking. In my opinion, this is a welcome change as it can bring diversity in one's education. For example, an engineer who chose to study music in his college days can end up designing next generation of musical gadgets. Moreover, people studying focused streams such as medicines will be able to choose completely different subjects, which can admittedly lead to more innovations in their respective fields. To conclude, keeping future workforce relevant is an important aspect of education. Nevertheless, it should also be considered that such relevance must not come at the cost of banality and mediocrity. Hence, students should be allowed to choose subjects they wanted to study, so as to create a happy, exciting and innovative future.