Some people believe that social networking sites are not doing enough to protect users' privacy. However, others believe that it is not the responsibility of the sites; instead, users should be more careful about what they make available online. Discu

Two days ago, I read an article about who is in charge of protecting private life on social networking. Some social workers state that these websites should take responsibility for providing it. However, some website designers claim that users should care about it themselves. In this essay, I will examine both points of view and agree with the idea of obliging social networking sites to secure privacy. Let us start with the reasons why some social workers argue that these social websites should protect confidentiality. The first reason is that they usually keep personal information in their databases. Social networking sites can easily restrict the access to private details, such as photos and phone numbers, since they have store and grant permission in their own data centers. Another reason is that they let others browse the personal information without alerting the owners by default. Many social networking websites leave the information relating to personal viewable on the web, which criminals can take advantage of against the owners. Therefore, after analyzing these reasons, it is clear that social networking sites should limit access to the personal data. Nevertheless, some website designers advocate that users should manage their personal information on their own. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, they have the right to decide what to do with their private information. People generally want to decide themselves either to open or close their front pages to the world, so it would be unfair, if websites did it for them. Secondly, this type of websites often provide various safety options for users to choose from. Facebook, for example, allows people to hide their pages either partly or totally, so they can grant a limited number of people access to their personal life. As a result, after considering these arguments, it is obvious that people should individually take care of their privacy on social networking sites. In conclusion, although some website designers say that users should take responsibility for the safety of their personal data, I believe that social networking sites should take measures instead of individuals for the above mentioned reasons.