Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children.

The role of homework is still widely debated nowadays, with some people believe that children should not be given homework and others think that homework is essential in educating children. There are valid opinions on both sides, which I will consider now. On the one hand, the opponents of homework highlight that children should also develop other skills besides studying academic subjects. They often say that if without homework, children will have more time to participate in physical activities that can teach them the skills like leadership and teamwork. For instance, soccer or hockey teams can teach children how to corporate with others to achieve a win-win agreement and to lead the team members to achieve the ultimate goals. What’s more, it is said that the quantity of homework needs to be controlled and reduced. Especially children in Asia can hardly have a break from studying, they often need to do homework until midnight. Most of the children are overwhelmed, stressed and even get depressed. Based on the research, the children’s suicide rate continues to stay rocky high in the late 2010s. On the other hand, the supporters of homework point to practice questions that can ensure children understand the knowledge. Usually, teachers will give appropriate homework to children based on what they learnt from daily lectures. Thus, children can have a better understanding of the lectures by doing homework. Furthermore, they also say that children can observe what they missed out from lectures by doing homework. For example, if there is an economic theory that the child did not understand from the lecture, and he/ she saw related questions from homework. Thus he/ she can learn by asking for help from teachers or peers. Overall, I feel that homework generally plays an unreplaceable role in the education of children, as long as it is within a reasonable amount, and children have spare time for other activities.