Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children.

There is some discussion that homework should be assigned to students or not. Some of them think it is important for students to do homework, nevertheless, some of them disagree with it. In Hong Kong, it is a common situation that minors are having lessons not only in the school, but also in private institution. It comes a result that exercise are not only come from school teachers, but also from tutors. Nevertheless, most of their parents will agree with it because they are having a sense that practise more is equal to learn more. A slightly change has been maken in recent year. Some parents have tried using other method to teach their children. Some of them are successful and their children had an extraordinary result. They try not giving any exercise to their children, but those practises are requested by their own children. They train their children by asking why or how the things work and let them solved it themselves with guidance. The outcome seems positive. From my point of view, practises are really necessory for students, especially youngsters. Practises can help youngsters to find out whether they misunderstood things they had learnt or not. The only issue is how many practises should be given. I would rather seperate those practises into multiple parts and let children finish them in different time. Beause I think small tasks finishing in different time will help them memorize in the long term memory. To conclude, people who agree giving homework to children believe that more exercise they are assigned, more they can learn. On the other hand, some may think helping children to discover what they need is better than assigning homework. I would rather vote for the latter.