Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. ’

Recent research on the significance of homework in the overall development of the scholastic performance of school going children has sparked a massive debate on its necessity with people arguing if homeworks are important. Here in this essay, let's take a glimpse at both the ends of the spectrum. Homework facilitates self assessment and helps the learners identify the problem areas, by themselves. Children are taught to deal with responsibility from a younger age, which becomes a valuable attribute when they join the work force. Repeatedly working on similar concepts by means of homework assignments, leads to better comprehension of the ideas and improves critical thinking. It is believed by some people that school going children should limit their academic activities to school so that they could spend the time at home, playing a sport or learning a new hobby. Family bonding time is getting affected due to the need for children to do a great deal of their academic work, at home. Due to the excessive amount of studying, most children go on to despise education and the percentage of school dropouts in the Western world is alarmingly high. Moreover, since the maximum amount of hours of a child's life is spent in an educational institute, so the remaining amount should be dedicated to activities other than that. In conclusion, I believe that homework aids the students in keeping track of the lessons taught at school, so they are a prerequisite for a proper education; however, there shouldn't be a lot of pressure on the young minds and they should be offered the liberty of a regular childhood.