An increasing number of people are buying items which they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online.

More and more people are purchasing items they require on shops online. Despite its numerous benefits such as convenience and privacy, there are also drawbacks that should be taken into account. Firstly, one positive aspect of shopping over the internet is that it is very convenient. For example individuals can order goods from the comfort of their homes and company managers can afford to run their business from any part of the world, this saves time and energy as factors like overcrowding are eliminated. Secondly, buying products from the internet is advantageous because it offers privacy. For instance, a person who wants to get discreet items such as lingerie or adult toys can do so without shame or discrimination. Additionally, online stores are open for 24hours and this results in a bigger customer pool with potential for rapid growth of business thereby favouring the company. On the other hand, one problem with buying goods online is that one cannot readily access the product and there is no touch and feel necessary for materials like clothing and jewelry hence quality may not be determined. Moreover, issues of website cost also arise for the company as designing and maintaining a professional website is not cheap. Another downside for both parties involved is that shopping on the internet can expose one to scam. For example, credit card scam, counterfeit products and hackers are some of the kind of fraud they may have to encounter and this can deter one from taking part in online retail. In conclusion, while some people and organisations benefit from shopping online, it can lead to fraud and product disatisfaction.