Nowadays, the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Advanced technology has significantly changed the way people interact with each other these days. This essay will explain how advancements in technology have affected our daily life and discuss if these changes make positive impacts on us. Many aspects in our life have been changed because of technology. In the past, people only have limited ways like writing letters to communicate as there are various difficulties, such as long distance or language barriers. However, advanced technology enables us to communicate more efficiently and effectively because it provides us more options to interact including email, phone call and video chat. To illustrate, when I was traveling in Thailand 10 years ago, I had to go to a pay phone if I want to make a phone call to my parents but now, I can just video chat with them on my smartphone. As can be seen, the way of interaction has been deeply changed with the development of technology. Interaction plays a crucial role in our society and we are able to communicate more easily and effortlessly compared to the past due to advancements in technology. However, it’s been criticized that people tend to be unsociable because of this. For example, due to social media like Facebook and Wechat are being widely used, people don’t have many opportunities or motivation to go out and socialize with their friends and family. For this reason, some people perceive advancements in technology can also be detrimental to shape people’s personality. To sum up, many aspects of our life, especially ways of communication have been changed nowadays. I am inclined to say that the overall benefits of these changes are superior.