Some people believe that punishment is the only purpose of prisons while others believe that prisons exist for various reasons

There are different perspectives about the purposes of prisons. Some might claim that prisons are existed for punishment purposes whereas others believe that there are various reasons supported in a prison. This essay will discuss both perspectives before reaching a reasonable conclusion. Punishment is the most effective purpose for the existence of prisons. It is a good idea to gather all criminals in a governed and organised area to train them becoming a better societal member. While gather all criminals in one place and gave them the time to consider about their wrong doing behaviours. Usually most of criminals are jailed with long sentences and during which time, they could think about their past mistakes. Therefore, criminals can have time to consider about their mistakes and their wrong acts. However, prison exists for multifarious reasons such as rehabilitation, security and discipline is one of those reasons. Prisoners are locked up in cells to separate them from other citizens for security reasons. If they are not locked up in prisons, citizens would be living in fear for any possibilities of further crimes. Also, the government and authorities can control their behaviours to be able to be the better society member when prisoners are released from the prison. They can socialise with other society members without any trouble. I believe the prison should be existed for rehabilitation purposes mainly. Criminals can get punished by being in prison and can feel sympathy for victims but conducting rehabilitating programs would be the primary reasons. Since the prison has a limited capacity to take prisoners, it is important to ensure that criminals can get back to society as a member. From the government’s perspective, placing criminals in the prisons for the number of period can be considered as losing the nation’s asset. Therefore, it would be better for prisoners and the government’s perspective to release criminals after taken training programs. In conclusion, there are several reasons for the prisons existence. Criminals can be punished by being in the prisons but the rehabilitation can be considered as important. Due to the massive number of criminals cannot be placed in the existence prisons and it can be considered as losing the nation’s assets. Therefore, other reasons also valid for existence of prisons.