Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime.

In recent years, crime rate has been increased drastically. While some people think, a life sentence is a superior method to decline illegal acts, others feel there are different procedures to deal with this situation. This essay discusses both the phenomena and agrees with the latter view. On the one hand, it is true that longer prison sentence helps to reduce violations as it develops fear in the criminal mind. That is because, they would spend their entire life locked up away from their loved ones and live a life that no one desire. This kind of mindset could build a better society as the felons will realise that they cannot get away with their wrong doings and face punishment accordingly. For instance, burglary cases has been reduced in the United States after the government announced culprits will be restricted to prison for twenty years. Clearly, this kind of law will generate fear and prevent the offenders from violating any regulations. On the other hand, there are several ways to control offence. Longer life sentence do not provide criminals an opportunity to change. Instead, the government could enlarge employment opportunities in rural areas, which assists the individuals to be engaged in some activity thereby establishing a positive environment and to not think about becoming an offender. Research conducted by a senior police officer shows that most of the felons who got released from jail are able to start a new life by finding a job, is an illustration to believe that there could be another ways to diminish misdeeds. If a person face a lifetime sentence for their mistakes then they may not get a chance to prove their changed behaviour. In conclusion, although, a life long punishment is conducive in controlling criminal cases, I strongly believe that government could provide more employment opportunities and give a chance to the culprits.