Some people believe that living in big cities is becoming more difficult. Others believe that it is getting easier.

It is true that there are good arguments on both sides of the question of living in big cities. While I acknowledge the drawbacks, I agree with those who consider that life is becoming easier, even in a large metropolis. On the one hand, there are powerful reasons to argue that some aspects of city life are making life more difficult for those who live there. Firstly, the population density is high and many residents use their cars to commute to work, to take children to school or simply to get around. More cars mean an increase in exhaust fumes, a deterioration in air quality and damaging effects on public health, especially for those with respiratory problems. Secondly, the cost of living is usually much higher in big cities compared with rural areas. The cost of living is constantly rising, as rents, house prices and public transport fares all increase regularly. Those on low incomes and students sometimes suffer from genuine hardship and are barely able to make ends meet. On the other hand, I agree with those who argue that life in the cities is becoming easier. People often migrate to urban areas because there are greater job opportunities and career prospects. For example, recent graduates who may have attended a university in a big city are unlikely to find work suited to their qualifications in the countryside, whereas the big companies and the big money are to be found in the cities. Another key factor to consider is the wealth of leisure and culture on offer in large urban areas. The cinema, music concerts and sports centres all attract customers, especially young people. It was once written: if you are tired of London, you are tired of life! Big cities simply offer so much to do! In conclusion, I believe that life in big cities, despite the problems, is getting easier and pleasanter.