Some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoos, while others think that zoos are both entertainment and ecological important. Discuss both views.

There has been a growing debate whether animals should be kept in zoos or not. While numerous individuals argue that keeping animals in zoos violates animal’s right, it seems to me that it is better to maintain animals in zoos as they are beneficial in terms of entertainment as well as ecology. On the one hand, I agree with those who are in favour of the first view. Those who support this idea advocate that zoos can function as sanctuaries for endangered species, as a consequence of which people are able to maintain the balance of ecosystem. It is crystal clear that animals which are on the verge of extinction because of habitat destruction are highly likely to be kept in good conditions thanks to successful captive breeding programs in zoos. Additionally, modern zoos may act as educational centers at which schoolchildren tend to gain more knowledge of zoology about how species are classified. In lieu of seeing wild animals through books, children will have an opportunity to see them directly if they go to zoos. Not only this is helpful to enlarge children’s knowledge, but also it creates opportunities for scientists to study animals and their behaviors. Zoos can also bring about a host of economic benefits too. This is because they provide job opportunities for a large number of people, which makes contributions to the revenue of local governments to some extent. That money can be used for conservation projects. On the other hand, some people consider zoos as cruel places. They think so as a number of zoos in some parts of the world violate animal’s right. For instance, developing countries are not able to keep animals in good conditions and their places do not fit to keep animals; as a result, animals lose their instinct for hunting or fighting. This may have negative impacts when animals come back to wildlife. Moreover, some organisations are highly likely to pay more attention to profit rather than protecting animals. They make a great effort to catch rare animals and put them in the cage in order to attract more people and increase their profit. Hence, it would be right to some extent providing that some zoos release their animals to the wildlife. In conclusion, zoos ought not to be closed down but it should be conducted in an appropriate and scientifical way to bring tremendous benefits for both humans and animals.