Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than of other countries.

People always argue that our own literature must be given the first priority and its significance must be taught more to the children rather than that of other countries. Indeed, I agree with this viewpoint that by learning our past, a young generation will gain more knowledge about various things. Firstly, by learning the literary works of their own nation, children can have an idea about what their place is, the details about great leaders, their good works besides they will also know the importance of monuments built and the significance of festivals. However, there were many unknown leaders, movements and many artistic works that is hidden from the outside world, and through the education we could teach the young adults about all these. For instance, young adults know the reason for celebrating the Independence Day about Mahatma Gandhi, Jawaharlal Nehru, but previously there were many freedom fighters, who waged many battles with the Britishers and trying to drive them away from our country and this is untold to the children. On the other hand, the history books of the present are having a mixture of unnecessary details about the world wars, cold wars and importance of other countries monuments and structure. For example, in my history book there were 10 chapters out of which 6 were related to world wars, cold war, the Chinese revolution and also about the Russian revolution. Moreover, information about Indian history, freedom fighters and battles waged were very less, just a 4 lines paragraph. Although, having a view about other country’s achievements will not harm these young ones, but still the education system’s foremost preference must be given to their own country’s culture. In conclusion, it would be nice if the youngsters gain more awareness about the literary works of their own nation and an equal prominence can be given to other cultures also.