Some people say that in all levels of education, , too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

It is often thought that too much time is spent learning facts and less time spent on acquiring practical skills from primary schools to universities. I strongly agree with this view. I will discuss two major reasons why I believe that the methods of education is not practical enough. To begin, the course outline of tutoring centres is skewed in a manner to include majorly the theoretical aspects of education. More emphasis is placed on reading textbooks and writing a long thesis in campuses. Only on few occasions do colleges encourage students to practice what they have been taught. For example, I took a course in dentistry for a year during my undergraduate study and to my surprise, I never got to see what a crown looked like throughout the duration of the course! In addition, I did not also get to perform tooth filling for a patient, which had been a major topic in class. Another reason I believe that the educational system is more biased towards a textbook method of learning is the way the exam questions are set not to include a practical section. In addition, the examiner expects that a scholar who is capable of writing down steps on how to perform an activity can equally carry out the it out. To emphasize my point, after a lesson on how to plant corn in high school, I had expected that we will be asked to demonstrate the process during our exams. Unfortunately, all we were asked to do was to document the process for cultivating maize and automatically, we were assumed to already know how to grow corn. To conclude, the type of subject outline and method of exam of an institution, more attention is devoted to theoretical aspects of studying. I will recommend that equal hours are spent on both aspects of learning.