Some people believe that it is a good idea for young people to take a year off to travel or work between high school and university. Others say it is better for students to go straight on to university after graduating from high school.

Nowadays the concept of a ‘gap year’ has widely accepted in many countries. Some people believe that taking a long break before entering a university is better than go straight to the university without a gap year. Considering the pros and cons of the gap year, I firmly believe taking a gap year is more beneficial for young students. On the one hand, having a year-long break can give several negative effects to the students, by not planning their gap year properly, a majority of people are likely to spend the time and focus on just relieving their stress, which had been accumulated during their intensive study in high school. This is because some might think getting free time is a reward for their studies. Moreover, not all potential employers consider the gap year as an essential break, some of them might think it is the waste of the time. On the other hand, some argue that once the gap year is well-planned, it can change one’s life. First of all, taking a break from those intensive academical periods can refreshen one’s body and soul. In addition, during the gap year, one can travel around the world or work as a part-timer, which they can learn the real world and broaden their view, By pressing a pause in their busy life and searching what they really want to do is an imperative experience. For instance, one of my friends, who took a gap year and travel the world, find out his interest in art museums and choose his career to be a curator. To sum up, while it is apparent that the gap year is likely to be spent pointlessly without a plan, it is undeniable that the long break before the university can be used in finding their interest and learning a life lesson.