Some people believe that individuals cannot improve environment, but only governments and big companies can make a difference.

Nowadays, environmental issues have become a major topic of discussion among people and governments. Many individuals / people argue that environmental protection can be achieved only by the governments or large business conglomerates. I strongly disagree with this opinion as small movements can have a big impact. Also any individual effort for the protection of the environment will be highly appreciated and supported by the public and this will increase the momentum. Even though, the majority of individuals think individual efforts are useless, they have a great impact on a bigger picture. For example, in the waste management process segregating the household garbage items will take only a few minutes for the person who is sending the waste materials to the government agencies, but it provides a greater advantage for the government bodies since it is easier for them to process the properly separated waste materials. If everyone thinks that they cannot make any difference, there will not be any positive move. Therefore it is important for everyone to do whatever they can to protect the environment. In addition, if individual efforts to protect the environment are highlighted through the proper channel, they will inspire many more people to follow the same path. For example, in 2017, Mr. Prashant, the then district collector of Kozhikode, took the personal initiative to clean a public lake in the district and he publicized / promoted the campaign on his Facebook page. After hearing about this, hundreds of local community persons joined the movement and made it a success. If that person was waiting for the government to take action, this would not happen. This clearly shows that any minor initiatives, especially for the betterment of the environment will receive a huge support from the public if we publicize it properly. To conclude, small efforts made by the individuals for the protection of the environment certainly make a difference and encourage others also to contribute. In the light of this we can strongly oppose the given argument which underestimates individual efforts, and clearly state that individual contribution is as much important as the support provided by government bodies and multinational companies.