Some people believe that individuals cannot improve environment, but only governments and big companies can make a difference.

It is believed that only governments and well established organizations can bring about improvements in the society, while other individuals do nothing. I vehemently disagree with this opinion. To begin, it is important that every individual in the society assumes a vital role in other to bring about positive changes in the community. First, maintaining a clean environment should involve every person residing in the community which include employing appropriate methods of waste disposal at all times. For instance, using the street waste bin, rather than dropping dirt on the floor, as well as neatly packing and dropping refuse outside each house for easy collection by the sanitary officers, instead of dumping it on the street. These help to keep the environment tidy, free from rodents and flies as well as prevent infectious diseases such as gastroenteritis and cholera. Also, individuals should make it their duty to be religious with paying their taxes as this will help generate funds which can be used by the government to further develop and improve the standard of the community. Likewise, obeying traffic rules will help reduce road traffic accidents, thereby making the entire vicinity more safe and serene for individuals to live in. In conclusion, I strongly believe that members of the society need to take part in ensuring improvement in the country. However, the government and big infrastructures also have important roles such as the enforcement of rules and regulations, and should strictly allotting fines and punishment to defaulters.