Some people believe that if people are allowed to work after the age of 60, it would cause problems for younger.

It is commonly believed that people should not be allowed to work after the standard retirement age such as 60, as it would be disadvantageous for younger professionals. I tend to agree with this concept considering that stretching the retirement period not only reducing the employment opportunity, but also creates problems for youngsters at the workplace. To embark on, allowing workers to work after the age of 60, create shortages of employment. This happens because when the senior employees occupy the position in an organization for a long duration, it would practically impossible for young professionals to apply for the same post, which designated by a senior employee. It will automatically decrease the potential employment vacancies, which could adversely affect newly graduates. Take the government sectors of Pakistan as an example, the majority of office staff working there are in the age range of 50-70. This policy of public sectors in Pakistan would certainly be prevented junior professionals to get the government jobs. Furthermore, the principle of pushing old-staff to work beyond their standard retirement age would also cause problems for the junior staff at the workplace. One prominent issue arises when old-aged personnel not willing to accept youngsters’ new ideas into the business. This is because old personnel usually do not want to change, as they are more inclined towards the traditional way of working. However, young officials always admire to put creativity into their work. This conflict in the way of working would create enormous issues for young professionals. One recent study of the Academy of Management has found that the main reason for high employee turnover is due to the traditional way of working implemented by old management. In conclusion, while some organizations allowed their workers to extend their retirement duration, I firmly believe that such a policy would drastically effect on younger professionals.