Smoking is prohibited in public places in many countries. Many office authorities also impose restrictions on smoking within the office premises. While many people welcome this restriction and suggest that smoking should be banned, others, however, feel that it takes away some of our freedom.

Smoking and its ample consequences are widely discussed these days all over the world. Research and studies point out that the active and passive smoking are equally threatening to the individual and society. Though there is a small issue regarding the restriction: personal freedom, I hold the view that the ban and restriction on smoking, especially in public places and office settings, are totally acceptable. One of the obvious reasons, public smoking causes various health hazards. To be more precise, major causes of the lung, oral cancers and heart ailments is none other than tobacco smoking. Prevention is better than cure. Instead of spending a large amount of money to treat these kinds of diseases, government’s decision on banning and controlling on smoking is more economic and effective. Furthermore, passive smoking, which usually happens in public places, claims thousands of innocent people's life across the world. At this juncture, prevention of little freedom like allowing public cigarette flaming is not justifiable. To cite an example, in the USA, the public smoking ban reduces the passive smokers’ cancer rates. Another reason to support my view is that the public smoking restrictions decline the fire risk rate to a great extent. In other words, in this congested world, allowing of public smoking is like adding fuel to the fire. Careless handling of cigarette fire causes major fire problem. It claims not only thousands of innocent lives but also public possessions. These social problems can be wisely handled by control of public smoking restrictions. In the UK, public smoking ban immensely reduced the building fire incidents in cities is the best epitome. However, an army of people claims that this is the breach of personal freedom. Perhaps it may be true to some degree, but we cannot deny that the public safety is much more important than mild freedom block. To crown it all, ban and control of public smoking are beneficial, especially for the individual as well as the society. Banning public smoking will enhance the public health and safety in many ways. To consider banning smoking a huge positive impact its ignorable drawbacks are completely negligible.