Some people believe that having sport in schools is a waste of time and resources, whilst other people believe that sport in schools is a vital part of education.

It is argued that having sports as a subject in schools plays an important role in education, which leads to many backlash calling thinking them unnecessary and time-consuming. In my opinion, it is imperative for students to be sporty at an early age. Several reasons why sports education should not be taught at school can be highlighted. Firstly, there are students who are already active at their home and forcing them to move their body more in school is absurd. In other words, the time that they are compelled to learn sports can be used for educational activities encompassing reading books or reviewing lessons. Secondly, sports are personal matters and rendering them compulsory in school is unpractical. This means that students who have to do things in which they are not interested can be discounted and bored, which may occasion many inappropriate behaviours. Despite the aforementioned argument, I believe that incorporating sports in school’s curriculum can be beneficial to student’s physical and mental health. There is sufficient evidence to infer that playing sports can boost youngsters’ self-confidence, concentration, and critical thinking. It can be said that remaining an active lifestyle by playing sports may create a mutually-reinforcing development between physical strengths and academic performance. Furthermore, most school-age children have yet to be aware of the importance of a healthy lifestyle. Such a move, therefore, can promote and spread a positive habit of doing exercises as well as avoiding a sedentary lifestyle at an early age. In conclusion, while I accept that sports can be not congenial to some students for who have no affinity, they gain more than they lose when participating in sports in school as for the broad-based health benefits these deeds offer.